Councillors & Mayor

The Matamata-Piako District Council is made up of twelve elected members from three wards - Te Aroha, Morrinsville and Matamata. There are three Councillors from Te Aroha, four from Morrinsville and four from Matamata, and a Mayor who may be from any town within the district.

The Council meets once a month (or more regularly if necessary), their role includes:

  • setting major policy such as Council’s Long Term Plan
  • appointing and monitoring the performance of the Chief Executive
  • approving major contracts
  • making decisions on matters that aren’t delegated to committees or council staff
  • building iwi relationships.

The Mayor has the legislative power to:

  • provide leadership to Councillors and people in the Matamata-Piako district
  • lead the development of council plans, policies and budgets
  • appoint the deputy mayor
  • establish council committees
  • appoint chairs to council committees.

Through doing these things Council develops a vision and strategic direction for the wider community. To see who your local Councillors are and how to get in touch with them, click here