

## Proposed allocation of Open Space Zones and Sport and Active Recreation Zones

## Introduction

The National Planning Standards includes three zones we need to use for the different types of Council reserves in the District Plan;

- Natural Open Space Zone
- Open Space Zone
- Sport and Active Recreation Zone

The Natural Open Space Zone will continue with the same rules as the existing Kaitiaki zone as it is intended there will only be a very limited range of activities that can occur on these reserves. The Open Space and Sport and Active Recreation Zones will have new objectives, policies and rules to manage the activities on these reserves.

The rules for the Open Space and Sport and Active Recreation Zones are in the summary document.

## **Open Space Zone**

The Open Space Zone (OSZ) is for open spaces that are used mainly for a range of passive, active leisure and recreational activities. These spaces typically have few facilities and structures, i.e. clubrooms, changing sheds or toilet facilities. The district's open spaces vary in size from small neighbourhood parks which are typically grassed with a seat, gardens or basic playground equipment, to larger parks where people can walk, cycle, skateboard or kick a ball around. Some of these open spaces are in rural areas, and others are in urban neighbourhoods and form an important part of the district's shared pathway network.

These public open spaces are generally more open, with less built features and help create an attractive living environment for people within the district. They can also have important natural and historic heritage values.

The following reserves are proposed as Open Space Zone:

Matamata Ward Reserves

- 1. Banks Road Reserve
- 2. Centennial Drive Reserve
- 3. Founders Park

35 Kenrick Street - PO Box 266 - Te Aroha 3342 - www.mpdc.govt.nz Morrinsville & Te Aroha 07 884 0060 - Matamata 07 881 90 50

- 4. Furness Reserve
- 5. Hetana Street Reserve
- 6. Jaycee Reserve
- 7. Jim Gardiner Grove
- 8. Kahikatea Crescent reserve
- 9. Kaimai Drive Reserve
- 10. Kaimai Tunnel Reserve
- 11. Kowhai Street Reserve
- 12. Mowbray Road Reserve
- 13. Neil Algar Reserve
- 14. Peria Road Reserve
- 15. Rapurapu Reserve
- 16. Tainui Street Reserve
- 17. Tom Grant Drive
- 18. Waharoa Rest Area
- 19. Firth Tower
- 20. Te Poi Recreation Reserve
- 21. Matamata Cemetery
- 22. Peria Road reserve
- 23. Wairere Falls Carpark

Morrinsville Ward Reserves

- 1. Anderson Street Reserve
- 2. Goodwin Park
- 3. Holmwood Park
- 4. Howie Park
- 5. Lindale Reserve
- 6. Lockerbie Park
- 7. Murray Oaks Scenic Reserve
- 8. Pakeke Park
- 9. Sain Crescent Reserve
- 10. Seales Road Reserve

- 11. Thomas Park
- 12. Morrinsville Library Reserve
- 13. Morrinsville Rose Garden
- 14. Robertson Reserve
- 15. Mangateparu Domain
- 16. Morrinsville Cemetery
- 17. Piako Lawn Cemetery
- 18. Tamihana Street Reserve

Te Aroha Ward Reserves

- 1. Carlton Street Reserve
- 2. Farmer Street Reserve
- 3. Hanna Street Reserve
- 4. Kennedy Street Reserve
- 5. Kowhai Street Reserve
- 6. Russell Avenue Reserve
- 7. Seddon Street Reserve
- 8. Tui Park
- 9. Waitoa Railway Reserve
- 10. Upper Boundary Street Reserve
- 11. Manawaru Recreation Reserve
- 12. Riverside Skatepark
- 13. Spur Street Reserve
- 14. Te Aroha Cemetery
- 15. Te Aroha Community garden
- 16. Waitoa Bowling Club

## **Sport and Active Recreation**

The Sport and Active Recreation Zone (SARZ) is for open space areas used for a range of sport and recreation activities, including organised sport and recreation for local, district wide and regional communities. This zone applies in parks, sports grounds and multi-sport facilities. These areas will normally have buildings such as club rooms, changing sheds or toilet facilities. Sport and active recreation areas are usually large open space areas with associated buildings and facilities that vary in scale depending on the sport and recreation activities that take place there. It is generally accepted that the level of development in this zone is higher than other Open Space and Recreation zones and that the sport and recreation activities that are likely to take place in this zone can generate noise, light and traffic in surrounding neighbourhoods.

The following reserves are proposed as Sport and Active Recreation Zone:

- 1. Waharoa Tennis Courts
- 2. Matamata Domain
- 3. Pohlen Park
- 4. Waharoa Domain
- 5. Walton War Memorial Domain
- 6. Morrinsville Recreation Ground
- 7. Tahuna Domain
- 8. Wiseley Reserve
- 9. Boyd Park
- 10. Herries Memorial Park
- 11. Waihou Recreation Reserve
- 12. Hinuera Recreation Reserve
- 13. Kuranu recreation Reserve
- 14. Roy Scott Reserve
- 15. Tahuna Golf Course
- 16. Walton Golf Course
- 17. Swap Park
- 18. Campbell Park
- 19. Bedford Park
- 20. Matamata Golf Club
- 21. Te Aroha Golf Club
- 22. Morrinsville Golf Club